No shell menu in Windows 7

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators

DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

I just installed TextPipe Standard v8.6.4 in a PC with Windows 7 Home Premium Edition (64-bit).

None of the TextPipe shell extension options appeared in the Windows Explorer context menu.

I think this may be a bug.

As the shell extensions are the normal method I use to my deploy debugged filters, this is a major inconvenience to me.
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

Hi David,

It's not a bug - Windows 7 x64 won't load a 32-bit DLL.

The development environment we use (Delphi) can't produce 64-bit .exe or .dlls yet, so we're kinda stuck.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Any idea how long before there will be a solution?

Is there no workaround feasible for users?
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Hi Simon,

The TextPipe Standard webpage claims (in effect) that it is compatible with Windows 7.
It shows the Windows 7 logo in the left hand side panel, together with the text, "Software runs successfully on Windows 98, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista & Windows 7".

According to Microsoft this logo should be displayed if an application has been tested with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows 7. See
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... -questions

While you are looking into this issue, I think you should be advising potential customers that this incompatibility has been reported as regards the missing shell extensions.
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Dear Simon,

Are there any other features of TextPipe Standard that are incompatible with 64-bit Windows 7.

David
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Dear Simon,

Have you confirmed that the TextPipe shell extensions appear OK in Windows 7 (32-bit) ?

The 64-bit version of Windows 7 is surely capable of installing and running 32-bit applications,
so the fact that Delphi does not compile 64-bit binaries may be an incomplete diagnosis.
  • 64-bit applications are installed in C:\Program Files\
    32-bit applications are installed in C:\Program Files (x86)\
The main TextPipe executable does work in Windows 7 (64-bit).
I ran one of my filters successfully before I started this thread.

What must be missing is a suitable dll to integrate into the Shell Context Menu of x64 Windows.
Creating that must surely be a smaller development task than converting the whole application to a 64 bit executable.

Best regards,

David Haslam
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

An x64 application cannot host an x32 DLL. TextPipe can still be x32, but Windows Explorer uses DLLs to provide shell integration.

We will have to find another way to provide this, perhaps by writing a new x64 DLL in another development language.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Any progress to report, Simon?
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

Hi David - sorry, no.

Delphi does not yet have an x64 version.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Do they even have 64-bit on the Delphi development roadmap?
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

No - this is a major concern here. They have a 2010 release, but 64 bit is no-where in site.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Is there nothing that could be used/developed as an alternative to Delphi?

e.g. Lazarus. http://www.lazarus.freepascal.org/

Or would that be too risky, and not fit in with your top-level development strategy?

David
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

Hi David - thanks for the heads-up.

We are checking out Free Pascal now. It might give us a temporary way around the x64 shell extension DLL issue
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DataMystic Support »

Urgh. Free Pascal does not have a GUI. It takes me back to Turbo Pascal/Borland Pascal days.

It cannot handle even the relatively simple code for the shell extension.

I think we'll be looking to reimplement it, possibly in .net.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
DFH
Posts: 976
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 2:49 am
Location: UK

Re: No shell menu in Windows 7

Post by DFH »

Hi Simon,

Any progress to report on getting the shell menu working in x64 systems?

This lack is very frustrating - and it's a long time since I started this thread.

David
Post Reply