Variable?

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators

Post Reply
Tractebel

Variable?

Post by Tractebel »

Can i create a global variable - extract a single piece of data out of a form (date) and then reuse that variable to "add a line"

I basically need to locate a date on a form in its own little location - and then use that date in a different location via something like

Add footer -> Date,@date,@date,@date etc.

Thanks for the help on this - im not a whiz at this program but am working hard to figure it out.

-Tractebel
Tractebel

Oh ya

Post by Tractebel »

If its not too much - a little sample code or something would go a long way in helping me out.

-Tractebel
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Check out the filter called

report mining\copy data down.fll
and also
find text and then include it on every line.fll
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
usjrf
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:36 am

find text and then include it on every line.fll

Post by usjrf »

I have a similar challenge. Where would I find this filter. I am working with version 6.1.1 Thanks.
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

It's available in 7.8 - it may not work in 6.1.1, but you should be able to apply the same principles.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
usjrf
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:36 am

Including a changing header on following lines

Post by usjrf »

Thanks. I have now upgraded to newest version and "capture to variable " solves the issue partially (albeit it seem s little "unpredictable").

I am however now struggling with converting:

HeaderA1;HeaderA2;HeaderA3
DataA1;DataA2;DataA3;DataA4
DataB1;DataB2;DataB3;DataB4
DataC1;DataC2;DataC3;DataC4
HeaderB1;HeaderB2;HeaderB3
DataD1;DataD2;DataD3;DataD4
DataE1;DataE2;DataE3;DataE4
DataF1;DataF2;DataF3;DataF4
DataG1;DataG2;DataG3;DataG4

into

DataA1;DataA2;DataA3;DataA4;HeaderA1;HeaderA2;HeaderA3
DataB1;DataB2;DataB3;DataB4;HeaderA1;HeaderA2;HeaderA3
DataC1;DataC2;DataC3;DataC4;HeaderA1;HeaderA2;HeaderA3
DataD1;DataD2;DataD3;DataD4;HeaderB1;HeaderB2;HeaderB3
DataE1;DataE2;DataE3;DataE4;HeaderB1;HeaderB2;HeaderB3
DataF1;DataF2;DataF3;DataF4;HeaderB1;HeaderB2;HeaderB3
DataG1;DataG2;DataG3;DataG4;HeaderB1;HeaderB2;HeaderB3

Thanks.
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Capture to Variable works fine if you understand how TextPipe works and place it inside a restriction such as placing everything inside a Restrict to Each Line filter. If you also include the Add Left Margin filter with the name of the captured variable then everything should work fine.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
Post Reply