Error-Invalid variant operation since upgrade to 7.4.2

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators

Post Reply
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Error-Invalid variant operation since upgrade to 7.4.2

Post by Christian Lempereur »

I just updated TextPipe Pro from 7.0.something to 7.4.2 and I am getting an "Error-Invalid variant operation" which I did not get with previous version.
The filter is getting data out of an Access DB with an SQL statement in the trial run area.
I could solve the problem by changing
SELECT T.Desc FROM Tasks T;
To
SELECT left(T.Desc,1000) FROM Tasks T ;
Any idea what the reason could be?
I may have to update a large number of filters if I go for the upgrade.

Regards,
Christian
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Hi Christian,

What is the data type of the field, and how long is the data in it typically?
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Error-Invalid variant operation

Post by Christian Lempereur »

TextPipe current version: 7.6.3

Sorry had other priorities. Finally here is an answer on your question: the field is a memo field.
I come back on it because there is another odd problem with this type of data. Besides the "Error-Invalid variant operation" problem, if I use my workaround it will work as long as the data is not more than 255 characters else I get another error unless I limit to left(Myfield,255).
If I put more than 255 than the data is cut anyway and worse the rest of the data (Yes the following rows from the table) is not retrieved. Processing stops here and no warning or error is issued.

Christian
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Post by Christian Lempereur »

In the meantime I found the following (clumpsy) workaround:
instead of using left(MyField, 500)
use:
mid(MyField,1,250),
mid(MyField,251,500)

(add more if needed)

And then use a filter to put the separate fields back in one field by restricting on those fields and removing the field delimiters and text qualifiers if necessary.

That solves my problem for now but it would be nice to be able to retrieve long memo fields at once.

Best regards,

Christian
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Post by Christian Lempereur »

Well apparently my workaround does not work if data is really more than 255 characters. I'm stuck!

Christian
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Sorry Christian,

No suggestions I'm afraid.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Post by Christian Lempereur »

If I understand your answer correctly, there is no way to handle memo fields larger than 255 characters in length with TextPipe and that's it.
Bottomline what you say is: look at another SW to do that. Tell me I did not get your message correctly.

Christian
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

This is an Access database driver issue, not a TextPipe issue.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
Christian Lempereur
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:36 am
Location: Brussels

Post by Christian Lempereur »

Possible. I got my problem solved by using the OpenOffice.org Database to retrieve the full memo fields. I think they have their own MS Access connection instead of the ODBC I use with TexPipe.

best regards,
Christian
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Thanks for letting us know Christian.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
Post Reply