Accessing Zip filename....

Get help with installation and running here.

Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators

alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Accessing Zip filename....

Post by alnico »

I am trying to work with the zip filename and NOT the 'zipped/compressed' filenames.

If I run the pattern below...the pdf inside the zip file is processed…not the zip filename itself.

Input file list: *.zip
--|__Restrict to file name
------|__Perl pattern [.*\..*]

If I change the pattern as below...it finds nothing (proving that it is only looking at the filenames zipped in the archive):

------|__Perl pattern [.*\.zip]


Thanks
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Mmmm. We'll have to make a code change to allow for this to work - zip files have made things somewhat more complicated for us!
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

zip filename

Post by alnico »

Has this bug been fixed? My work has been halted because of it ;-(

Thanks,
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Not yet, but we plan for a release in the next 3 weeks to address it.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

Looking into this issue, I can certainly see how renaming files inside a .docx, .pptx or .xlsx would not be good, especially where these names are referenced inside the zip file.

We've just tested the new feature with a filter that converts all filenames to uppercase. It uppercased filenames, but leaves the files inside the zip alone.

We've just uploaded a beta to the secure area and to
http://www.datamystic.com/textpipeprobeta.exe

- let me know how it goes.
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Post by alnico »

I have download the posted beta version as well as 8.03, neither appear to work.

When I run this filter it says that it is processing the pdf inside the zip file...however it does match my zip pattern. But, when it outputs the file, it writes out the pdf instead of the zip file.


|--Restrict to filenames matching perl pattern [\\assets\\.*-es\.zip]
| |
| +--Restrict to file name
| |
| +--Perl pattern [([^\\]*)-es(\.zip)] with [$1$$2]
|
|--Output to file(s)
| Only output modified files| Output folder: Z:\folder\assets\
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Post by alnico »

Hi,

Is there any word on this...is it still a bug or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

We'll look at it later today for you
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Post by alnico »

Hello,

It's been 2.5 weeks, have you had a chance to look at this?

Thanks,
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by DataMystic Support »

My apologies - no. Hopefully we can get to it this week
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Re: Accessing Zip filename....

Post by alnico »

Hi,

Sorry for being such a pest...but I brought this bug to your attention 6 months ago...and you keep saying that you will look at it.
I upgraded last October specifically for this fix only to learn that it wasn't completely fixed.

Can you please take the time and fix it?

Thanks
User avatar
DataMystic Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2227
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Accessing Zip filename....

Post by DataMystic Support »

We will do our best! I expect to have it done by the end of next week
Regards,

Simon Carter, https://www.DataMystic.com
https://www.JadeDiabetes.com - Insulin dose calculator for Type 1 diabetes
https://www.DownloadPipe.com - 250,000 free software downloads
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Re: Accessing Zip filename....

Post by alnico »

Thanks Simon.

There are a lot of hits on this posting...I cannot imagine I am the only one needing this fix ;-)

Thanks,
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Re: Accessing Zip filename....

Post by alnico »

Hi Simon,

I know this is an old bug fix request...but I still am in need of a solution. And by the hits on this post...others as well ;-)

I know you have mentioned that this zip stuff has made things more complicated to deal with. But this bug still plagues my everyday work...as I have to do an arcahic work around...not fun.
Will we ever see a fix?

:idea: I don't know if this would help...but what about adding a checkbox to the "Restrict to file name" filter that says "ignore zipped/archived contents"? Just thoughts...just trying to help get it fixed :wink:

Thanks, Brent

Oh, by the way...the new T-Filter is an excellent solution for all my past requests for filtering, writing out content to external files, close file and turn around and insert it is the same TextPipe app.
This is very powerful...Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
alnico
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:57 pm

Re: Accessing Zip filename....

Post by alnico »

I see that a new version of TextPipe has a new option:
* New option to allow/prevent processing of files inside Compressed files such as .ZIP, .DOCX, .XLSX and .PPTX.

That's great...I am excited!

I upgraded more than a year ago for this same bug fix that ended up not working...now my upgrade period has expired. Can you help me here?

Thanks for the fix, greatly appreciated.
Post Reply