Hi there,
I'm having some problems getting data out of an Oracle DB. Whenever I try include a field which is defined as a NUMBER field it returns the error:
"Error-Invalid variant operation"
All other field types seem to work fine, it's just the NUMBER.
I've tried many different connect strings including going through the ODBC source with multiple different drivers. I've also tried using a DRIVEr={...} type connect as wel.
If I query the database using sql-plus it works fine and it's using the same driver.
Any ideas it's making the problem rather useless while it's doing this?
Thanks!
Database Problem: "Error-Invalid variant operation"
Moderators: DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators, DataMystic Support, Moderators
- DataMystic Support
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2227
- Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
I have pegged it down to all fields which are either NUMBER type or DECIMAL.
Unfortunately, the data contained in these fields is important for what I'm working on and I can't afford to exclude that field.
Is there any way to resolve this issue as I'm having serius issues getting things done at the moment?
Cheers.
Unfortunately, the data contained in these fields is important for what I'm working on and I can't afford to exclude that field.
Is there any way to resolve this issue as I'm having serius issues getting things done at the moment?
Cheers.
- DataMystic Support
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2227
- Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
- DataMystic Support
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2227
- Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 12:32 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
Hi Glen,
We can reproduce the problem easily enough here now, but the news is not good. The error occurs when the record set is opened - this is even before the columns are traversed to extract the data, so it is buried deep in the internal libraries of our development tool. I don't believe we can work around this error until we move to a newer version.
Even with an ODBC connection (with the setting to always provide a precision) the error still occurs.
Unfortunately you'll have to limit TextPipe to non-Oracle work.
We can reproduce the problem easily enough here now, but the news is not good. The error occurs when the record set is opened - this is even before the columns are traversed to extract the data, so it is buried deep in the internal libraries of our development tool. I don't believe we can work around this error until we move to a newer version.
Even with an ODBC connection (with the setting to always provide a precision) the error still occurs.
Unfortunately you'll have to limit TextPipe to non-Oracle work.